Choices

By Oluwaseun

I have just started to realise that life is all about choices.

Even when we fail to make a choice, we are still choosing something. For a long while i have been hiding in the shadows, been walking on the side lines never choosing to live because i was scared. I was scared of the world i live in, i was scared of what if and so i never chose to do anything. When i am presented with a situation i usually thought about the worst case scenario. Some people call it over thinking things, i call it fear. I was scared of making my opinions known, i was scared of being known, i was scared of taking decisions and i was scared of telling people how i really felt about them, about things, about life. I was scared of being the best even though i wanted to be. I was scared of living and loving. I never chose this things consciously, but in choosing to do nothing i was choosing something. Now i realise that if you do not stand up and make your feelings known if you act like a spectator in your own life, nobody is going to regret it more than you.

I have decided to choose me. I have decided to put me first after God. I have decided to do what makes me happy. I have decided to stop wondering what if. I have decided to love myself. I have decided that life is too short to waste it. I have decided that if you treat me like crap i won’t take it. I have decided to stop forcing what is not meant to be. I have decided to fall out of love with you and fall back in love with me. I have decided to make me the centre of my life after God and not you. I have decided to stop hurting myself poking into those bruises you left. I have decided to move on….

Leave a Reply

