My NLS Experience

ef04e762811033b09fa1b4efbf15b296

by Oluwatobi Amoo

Truth is the Nigerian law school is better experienced than imagined.

The Wait

I didn’t really celebrate my LL.B that much, because I was waiting for the dear Law school. I kept telling everybody that wanted me to ‘wash’ the convocation for them “Don’t worry. We’ll do correct washing at call to bar”. I was excited about Law School not because i’m bookish or like school, but because I wanted to get it over with as quick as possible. The best way to achieve that was for the law school programme to come and go sharp-sharp. Looking back with hindsight, I should have enjoyed the waiting period while it lasted, for there were times at NLS when I wished I could go back to that waiting period.

Posting.

I wanted Abuja campus by all means. I had prayed and prayed and prayed, with fasting and I was so confident i’ll be posted to the headquarters. I chose Abuja, Enugu, Lagos & Yenegoa in that order. My mental, emotional and all kinda preparation was for Abuja campus.

Waiting for the posting was like a politician waiting for an Election result. We were to resume on Monday and as at Saturday afternoon we hadn’t known where we going to spend the next one year. Cut-Long-Story-Short I was posted to Kano campus. What???!!!! Ka-what??? I didn’t choose it. How on earth. I didn’t believe my eyes. I refreshed the page and zoomed in to be sure I wasn’t checking someone else’s. Anyways, the son of man went to the Bagauda, Kano campus.

Resumption.

After all the registration procedures that entailed a lot of queues and photocopies and all, we had orientation and got the almighty code of conduct.

Fast-forward to second week in class. Giants of intimidation began to arise. Is it guys that had read half the syllabus before we resumed? Is it men who had worked years as court clerks? Or people that could read 7 hours at a stretch without blinking? Or First Class degree holders? All of them were in the same class with me. *Sighs*. Thankfully, the intimidation didn’t last long. At least for yours truly.

Initially, the classes were interesting…felt like a real Post-Graduate class and all…but by week 5 it wasn’t funny anymore. the avalanche of new knowledge to chop was just too much. It was like exposing someone who was under a shower to the furious highly pressurized water coming out of the fireman’s hose.

Classes became really demanding, especially for those of us who wanted to keep up. At a point, I decided to move at my pace – not comparing myself with any other person – and it made so much sense. I also had great roomies and intellectual friends that helped make learning fun.

Chapel of Favour (chaplain & members) helped in no small measure. It was a shedding point of some sort. Anytime I was overwhelmed with the work volume, and I always was, the chapel was a place of solace, encouragement and receiving spiritual strength. Of course, I was very active in church here and there upandan.

Externship

It felt like getting freedom from a prison sentence. I knew I still had to read and all, but at least it’ll be from home. Free from the substandard maami food. Plus I got to see in practice all the theoretical stuff we had been doing in class which made reading and assimilation easier. I also got to (re) interact with other colleagues from other campuses and share notes and all. And got to watch movies on weekends. (Don’t Try it at Home if your faith doesn’t carry you o. LOL!).

Exams.

Almighty bar finals came and went. YaaaY we passed.

*whispers* The bar finals is kinda overrated jor. *Don’t tell anyone I said so*

get-excited-i-m-done-law-school

If you liked this post, please like and share.

5 thoughts on “My NLS Experience

Leave a Reply

