Dear Dad

Dear Dad,

I bet you know why I am writing to you. Yes, you guessed right. It’s because I still haven’t gotten the car you promised me since i left secondary school (in 2008!!!!!). It’s 2017 now, and I’m supposed to be a grown woman, but I don’t forget promises that quickly.

No Dad, you can’t get away by claiming sudden amnesia. Remember how you said once I get admitted into the university, “I will buy a car for you“. I remember how you even described it. It was supposed to be one of those cute golf cars. Instead the minute I got into uni, you handed me the keys to your jalopi (remember your blue Camry?). “It’s just for a short while” is what you told me when I gave you the look. Well dad, my brother inherited the same blue camry from me, and just in case you can’t remember- I STILL DIDN’T GET MY CUTE GOLF CAR AND THIS IS 2017.

It’s okay, dad. No, really it is. I just felt the need to take you on a short guilt trip (:-p). I’m not complaining, because you have been an awesome father to me and I feel blessed to have you. I’m extremely glad I have you as my dad.

I still bask in the glory of the tales of how we were inseparable when I was a baby- that is until my evil sister came along, kmt. But let’s go back to the happy days- you know when they asked if I was adopted or if you had married someone of another race because you were so dark and I looked like I escaped albinism (sadly when I look in the mirror today all I see is my burnt face- Naija sun haff finish me).

You are the kind of father everyone prays to have. You are always there for me, most especially those times I went on a splurge spree and I was broke. I didn’t deserve your help half of the time, but you couldn’t stand to see me suffer. (I promise that’s not the only reason I love you).

Remember those times you always called to check up on me, when I was lost in my world and did not care about any other person but myself? And how you labour over me in prayers every day, I probably won’t be here if you didn’t.

Oh, and our ironing lessons! “it’s all in the way you fold…” You’d tell me.  I hate to break it to you, I still haven’t gotten the hang of it- I can’t iron without leaving a single crease.

I remember all the nights I slept off in the sitting room, just so you’d carry me to my room. I never really appreciated it, until the one time you were away, and I woke up in the dead of the night, all alone in the dark-gosh I was too frightened to even move a muscle (I think mum left me out there to teach me a lesson though).

Thanks for having my back when I did the most crazy things and for not ratting me out to mum. I won’t forget that time you came home earlier than usual and you met a boy with me in YOUR HOUSE!!! I can’t imagine what was going through your head even as you walked the boy calmly out of the house, and without raising your voice asked me if I was ready to get married (lol). I was so ashamed and I was mentally ready for you to scream the roof down, but shockingly you did not. Just in case you still don’t believe me, I SWEAR WE WERE NOT DOING ANYTHING!!!

Dad, you are still one of the few kind men I know. You always waited on me and spoilt me silly when I was ill. I still don’t know how you do that, I never know what to do when people around me are ill (I think I got that from mum).

Most importantly, thank you for letting me choose my own path and be myself, even when you did not approve of some of my ways. I can still hear you muttering under your breath about how adding weaves to my hair is demonic (lmao). You never complained or berated me when i took over your car stereo and played songs that you didn’t approve of.

I know Father’s day has since passed, but I hope you know I love you Dad. I hope I make you a proud father.

Your only  first daughter

Toffy

P.S.: Dad, I really won’t mind that car right now. Adulthood isn’t what I thought it would be.

Just kidding… Hahaha.

2 thoughts on “Dear Dad

Leave a Reply

